The Memorial golf tournament 2018

It’s only a short while until the Memorial golf tournament 2018 kicks off at the Jack Nicklaus course at Muirfield Village in Dublin Ohio, with no doubt a very strong field once again teeing it up for one of the most sort after and prestigious events on the PGA Tour calendar, it will definitely be another magical week of breathtaking and spectacular golf from the world’s top golfers.

The Memorial golf tournament 2018

The Memorial golf tournament 2018 - Jason Dufner and Jack NicklausLast year’s tournament was won by Jason Dufner on 13 under par followed on 10 under par by Anirban Lahari and the one and only Rickie Fowler sharing the runner-up spot, the Memorial Tournament is now in its 42 second year of being staged in 1976, a Jack Nicklaus owned and designed golf course which is a stern test for all the world’s top golfers measuring a fine 7,392 yards and a par 72, the tournament record is held by Tom Lehman at 20 under par in 1994.

The Memorial Tournament Invitational

The Memorial Tournament is one of only five PGA Tour events given the status of invitational, with a reduced field of only 120 players compared to a normal PGA Tour event of 156 players in the field, the other four PGA Tour events that have invitational status are The Arnold Palmer Invitational, The RBC Heritage Classic, The Fort Worth Invitational and the Quicken Loans Tour event, so a very prestigious golf tournament indeed.

Previous recent winners since the year 2000 are:

2000 – Tiger Woods

2001 – Tiger Woods

2002 – Jim Furyk

2003 – Kenny Perry

2004 – Ernie Ells

2005 – Bart Bryant

2006 – Carl Petterssen

2007 – K J Choi

2008 – Kenny Perry

2009 – Tiger Woods

2010 – Justin Rose

2011 – Steve Stricker

2012 – Tiger Woods

2013 – Matt Kuchar

2014 – Hideki Matsuyama

2015 – David Lingmerth

2016 – William McGirt

2017 – Jason Dufner

The Memorial golf tournament 2018

The Memorial golf tournament 2018 - Rory McIlroy

So the great Tiger Woods as you can see really likes this layout at Muirfield Village and has announced recently that he will be playing in this year’s event between May 31st and June 3rd, the last time Tiger Woods teed it up at The Memorial in 2015 he finished last out of the field after shooting a very un-Tiger-like 85 in the 3rd round of the tournament, no doubt this time he is fully fit and will be contending once again to possibly win his 6th Memorial Tournament – watch this space! 

This year’s field will include the likes of Rickie Fowler, Dustin Johnson, Zach Johnson, Matt Kuchar, Rory McIlroy, Current US Masters Champion Patrick Reed, Jordan Spieth, Henrik Stenson, Justin Thomas and Bubba Watson to name just a few of the world’s top elite golfers.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *